The Roar
The Roar


Wallabies team and squad 2022

(Photo by Daniel Jayo/Getty Images)

The Wallabies squad is selected from Australian players plying their trade in Super Rugby AU. There is also the option to pick overseas-based players but Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has publicly stated his preference to pick locally-based players.

The 36-man Wallabies squad has been named for the Spring Tour of Europe, which starts against Scotland on Sunday October 30 (AEDT) and will conclude on Sunday November 27 (AEDT) against Wales.

Michael Hooper is back from his leave of absence due to mental health concerns but will not be captain, while five uncapped players have been named.

Matt Philip was originally named, but ruptured an ACL at training just days out from the squad’s departure, forcing him out. His replacement has not yet been named.

Wallabies squad for the 2022 Spring Tour (age, team, Tests played)

Allan Alaalatoa (28, ACT Brumbies, 60 Tests)
Tom Banks (28, ACT Brumbies, 20 Tests)
Jock Campbell (27, Queensland Reds, uncapped)
Ben Donaldson (23, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)
Folau Fainga’a (27, ACT Brumbies, 33 Tests)
Lalakai Foketi (27, NSW Waratahs, 4 Tests)
Bernard Foley (32, Kubota Spears, 73 Tests)
Matt Gibbon (27, Melbourne Rebels, 2 Tests)
Nick Frost (23, ACT Brumbies, 5 Tests)
Langi Gleeson (21, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)
Jake Gordon (29, NSW Waratahs, 16 Tests)
Ned Hanigan (27, NSW Waratahs, 25 Tests)
Reece Hodge (28, Melbourne Rebels, 60 Tests)
Jed Holloway (29, NSW Waratahs, 6 Tests)
Michael Hooper (30, NSW Waratahs, 121 Tests)
Len Ikitau (24, ACT Brumbies, 21 Tests)
Andrew Kellaway (27, Melbourne Rebels, 18 Tests)
Noah Lolesio (22, ACT Brumbies, 14 Tests)
Lachlan Lonergan (23, ACT Brumbies, 6 Tests)
Tate McDermott (23, Queensland Reds, 18 Tests)
Fraser McReight (23, Queensland Reds, 8 Tests)
Mark Nawaqanitawase (22, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)
Cadeyrn Neville (33, ACT Brumbies, 3 Tests)
Hunter Paisami (24, Queensland Reds, 20 Tests)
Jordan Petaia (22, Queensland Reds, 22 Tests)
Matt Philip (28, Melbourne Rebels, 27 Tests)
David Porecki (29, NSW Waratahs, 7 Tests)
Tom Robertson (28, Western Force, 27 Tests)
Pete Samu (30, ACT Brumbies, 28 Tests)
Will Skelton (30, Stade Rochelais, 21 Tests)
James Slipper (c) (33, ACT Brumbies, 123 Tests)
Sam Talakai (31, Melbourne Rebels, uncapped)
Taniela Tupou (26, Queensland Reds, 43 Tests)
Rob Valetini (24, ACT Brumbies, 27 Tests)
Nic White (32, ACT Brumbies, 56 Tests)
Tom Wright (25, ACT Brumbies, 18 Tests)

More Rugby content